Institute for Social and Economic Change

Development In Karnataka:
A Multi-Disciplinary Perspective

looking back at the proceedings

Papers presented

 

Home

The Institute in collaboration with Cornell University, Ithaca, USA organised a conference on "Development in Karnataka: A Multi-Disciplinary Perspective" from June 10 -12, 2005 with the idea of providing a forum where research on a wide range of issues related to Karnataka could be shared with policy makers, researchers and civil society. Participants representing a range of social science disciplines came from different parts of India and also from Norway, Germany, UK and USA

The conference was inaugurated by the State Minister for Industry Mr PGR Sindhia, who also conveyed a written message from the Chief Minister, Mr. Dharam Singh.

Papers presented during the conference.

June 11th Saturday

Keynote address

Political Selection and the Quality of Government: Evidence from South India
Timothy Besley,
London School of Economics, t.besley@lse.ac.uk
Co-authored with Rohini Pande , Yale University and Vijayendra Rao, The World Bank

Technical Session 1: Economic and Political Dynamics

Change in Rural Karnataka Over the Last Generation: Villages and Broader Context
James Manor, IDS, University of Sussex, j.manor@ids.ac.uk

Political Leadership and Economic Development in Karnataka
Gujjarappa Thimmaiah,
ISEC, kunnikere@yahoo.com

Ideological Elements and Political Instability in Karnataka: Janata Dal in the late 1990s.
Pamela Price, University of Oslo, p.g.price@hi.uio.no

Technical Session 2: Local Development

Dynamics of Local Governance in Karnataka
Kripa Ananthpur,
Madras Institute of Development Studies, kripa@mids.ac.in

Corruption and Local Governance: Evidence From Karnataka.
V. Vijayalakshmi,
Consultant Sociologist, vijayalakshmi@vsnl.com

Choosing not to Participate – Evidence from the Drought Prone Area Program (DPAP) in Chitradurga
Ananda Vadivelu,
Institute for Social and Economic Change, (ISEC) vadivelu26@rediffmail.com

Keynote address

Institutionalising Citizen Participation in Urban Governance
Ramesh Ramanathan, J
anaagraha, ramesh@janaagraha.org

Technical Session 3: Projects and Policies

Participation in a School Program in Karnataka
Sharon Barnhardt,
Harvard University; Dean Karlan, Princeton University; Stuti Khemani, The world bank. Email: Sharon_Barnhardt@ksgphd.harvard.edu

Agrarian Reform for a Liberal Pattern of Society? Karnataka’s Land Policy and the New Dispensation.
Ronald Herring,
Cornell University, rjh5@cornell.edu

Technical Session 4: Projects and Policies (Continued)

The Karnataka Yeshasvini Health Insurance Scheme & Peasants: Towards Comprehensive Health Insurance Coverage for Karnataka?
Sarosh Kuruvilla,
Cornell University; Mingwei Liu, Cornell University and Priti Jacob, Narayana Hrudayalaya Hospital,Bangalore. Email: sck4@cornell.edu

At Times When Limbs May Fail: Social Security for Unorganised Workers in Karnataka
D. Rajashekhar, Suchitra J Y, Madheswaran S and G K Karanth,
Institute for Social and Economic Change, Email: raja@isec.ac.in

Technical Session 5: Civil Society and the Public Sphere

Democracy and Evasive Silences: A Preliminary Report on the Public Sphere in Karnataka
Dattathreya Subbanarasimha,
Columbia University, dcs117@columbia.edu Communication,

Uneasy Partnerships: NGO-State Relationships in Karnataka
Neema Kudva,
Cornell University, nk78@cornell.edu

 June 12th Sunday

Keynote address

To be or not to be? Women's location in public policy
Devaki Jain,
lcjain@bgl.vsnl.net.in

Technical Session 6: Gender, Population and Health

Systematic Hierarchies and Systemic Failures: Gender and Health Inequities in Koppal District
Gita Sen, Asha George and Aditi Iyer,
IIM Bangalore, gita@iimb.ernet.in

A Comparative Analysis of Fertility and Education in the Parts of Karnataka, Maharashtra and AP that Belonged to Hyderabad State.
Mari Bhat, Institute of Economic Growth, Delhi, mari@iegindia.org

Technical Session 7: Gender, Population and Health (continued)

Reproductive Health Services and the Role of Panchayats in Karnataka
Poornima Vyasulu,
CBPS, Bangalore and Vijayalakshmi,V., Consultant Sociologist, Email: poornima@cbpsindia.com

Social Mobility in the Context of Occupational Health: The Case of Silk Reeling
Anand Inbanathan,
Institute for Social and Economic Change, anand@isec.ac.in

Technical Session 8: IT and ICT

Social Capital, Diversity and (Economic) Development: Evidence from the Indian IT Industry in Bangalore
Florian Taeube,
Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University, taeube@wiwi.uni-frankfurt.de

ICT Sector and Regional Economic Development: Evidence from Karnataka State
M. R. Narayana,
Institute for Social and Economic Change, mrn@isec.ac.in

 

 

ISEC

        [The Institute] [Current Research] [Ph. D Programme] [Seminars and Training]

  [Academic Departments/Units] [Library & Documentation]
 [Information Technology] [Publications] [Faculty] [Vision 2010] [Home]